Archives for 

Recommended Reading

Recommended Reading

Recommended Reading Elder Care Education Twin Cities MN Jolene Brakley Creating Moments of Joy: A Journal for Caregivers (Fourth Addition)  by Jolene Brackey This is a must read for families who have loved ones with Alzheimers. Jolene gives us such sensible answers about the mysteries of this disease and helps us to realize where our Alzheimer patients are coming from and how we can calm […] Continue reading →

Recommended Reading: My Voice, My Choice

Twin Cities MN Senior Care Advice Book Recommended Reading My Voice, My Choice A Practical Guide to Writing a Meaningful Healthcare Directive by Anne Elizabeth Denny This book is written by a local resident of the Twin Cities who’s worked within the health care industry for 16 years and also journeyed with her mother through Alzheimer’s for twenty years. My Voice, My Choice explains […] Continue reading →

Recommended Reading

Recommended Reading Through the Wilderness of Alzheimer’s Twin Cities MN Through the Wilderness of Alzheimer’s By: Robert Simpson, Anne Simpson Nearly four million Americans have Alzheimer’s disease, a debilitating neurological disorder affecting the memory that places great stress on the sufferer as well as the caregivers. Robert and Anne Simpson share the story of Bob’s early onset of Alzheimer’s in order to give families accurate, […] Continue reading →

Recommended Reading

Elderly Health Care Dealing With Depression Twin Cities MN The Chemistry of Joy, by Henry Emmons, MD The classic book that New York Times bestselling author Dr. Larry Dossey called “a valuable guide for anyone wishing to find greater exuberance and fulfillment in their life,” The Chemistry of Joy offers a unique blend of Western science and Eastern philosophy to show you how to treat depression more naturally […] Continue reading →

Recommended Reading: How We Age

Recommended Reading from Choice Connections of MN How We Age: A Doctor’s Journey into the Heart of Growing Old by Marc Agronin A young doctor’s reflections on his experiences as a nursing-home psychiatrist—and the remarkable stories of vitality, connection, and growth that transformed his view of aging In the tradition of Atul Gawande and Sherwin […] Continue reading →

The Truth about Seniors and Romance

Senior Citizens Elderly Romance Love Care Facilities Twin Cities MN The Truth about Seniors and Romance by Anthony Cirillo guest contributor to Caring.com There is a tendency toward age bias in our society. Typical stereotypes are that seniors are “slow” or have poor memory, for example. There are also misconceptions surrounding Seniors and romance.  Lets examine a few of them. Misconception: When you’re old, relationships are […] Continue reading →